Bus mailing

« Back to Glossary Index

Sometimes companies join forces to send two or more advertising or promotional offers to a list of prospects in the same mailing. This practice constitutes the bus mailing, the multi-mailing or more commonly called “group mailing”.

Typically, offers are presented in the form of coupon cards, similar in size to a playing card. One side of the card presents the offer or the product. The other side allows a postal response. If coupon cards have long been favored, today advertisers are innovating by offering boxes to prospects. A box can include several products, including loyalty cards, offers or product samples.

The bus mailing is a direct marketing tool widely used in B2B. Now, this practice is also becoming popular in B2C. And if the tool is gaining in popularity within companies, it is because it allows the different advertisers to share the shipping costs, but also the production costs. Indeed, the costs of the operation are contractually shared between each advertiser.

Bus mailing

« Back to Glossary Index

Il arrive que les entreprises s’associent pour adresser dans un même envoi deux ou plusieurs offres publicitaires ou promotionnelles à une liste de prospects . Cette pratique constitue le bus mailing, le multipostage ou plus couramment appelé « publipostage groupé ».

Généralement, les offres sont présentées sous la forme de cartes coupons, de taille similaire à une carte à jouer. L’une des faces de la carte présente l’offre ou le produit. L’autre face, elle, permet une réponse postale. Si les cartes coupons ont longtemps été privilégiées, aujourd’hui les annonceurs innovent en proposant des box aux prospects. Un box peut comprendre plusieurs produits, dont des cartes de fidélité, des offres ou encore des échantillons de produits.

Le bus mailing est un outil de marketing direct largement utilisé en B2B. Désormais, cette pratique tend également à se populariser en B2C. Et si l’outil gagne en popularité au sein des entreprises, c’est parce qu’il permet aux différents annonceurs de se partager les frais d’expédition, mais aussi de réalisation. En effet, les coûts de l’opération sont répartis contractuellement entre chaque annonceur.