Communication

« Back to Glossary Index

Communication is a fundamental component of the marketing mix. It takes place after the product has been manufactured and the other variables in the mix have been set up: product, price and distribution. It involves making the existence of a product known and promoting it. From this point of view, the brand or the company must adopt an adapted communication policy in order to reach and convince the target market.

While the primary purpose of communication is to sell a product or service, it also allows for the transmission and sharing of knowledge to the target audience. Carried out according to the rules of the art, it makes it possible to influence the attitude and behavior of consumers towards a brand, a company, a product or a service. In all cases, the content of the communication must always be truthful. The brand or company must always tell the truth about itself, its products and services.

For an effective communication, the brand or the company must adapt the communication to the expectations of its target customers. The choice of communication tools must take into account the product to be promoted, the nature of the target clientele, the type of distribution and the available budget. Generally speaking, there are 3 main elements of successful communication: concentration, continuity and redundancy, in other words repetition.

Communication can be visual, written, verbal and non-verbal.

Communication

« Back to Glossary Index

La communication est une composante fondamentale du Marketing Mix. Elle intervient après la fabrication du produit et de la mise en place des autres variables du mix : produit, prix et distribution. Elle consiste à faire savoir l’existence d’un produit et de faire valoir ce dernier. Dans cette optique, la marque ou l’entreprise doit adopter une politique de communication adaptée afin de toucher et convaincre le marché cible.

Si le but premier de la communication est de vendre un produit ou un service, elle permet également de transmettre et de partager des connaissances au public visé. Réalisée dans les règles de l’art, elle permet d’influencer l’attitude et le comportement des consommateurs face à une marque, une entreprise, un produit ou encore un service. Dans tous les cas, le contenu de la communication doit toujours être véridique. La marque ou l’entreprise doit toujours dire la vérité sur elle-même, sur ses produits et ses services.

Pour une communication efficace, la marque ou l’entreprise doit adapter la communication aux attentes de sa clientèle cible. Le choix des outils de communication doit prendre en compte le produit à promouvoir, la nature de la clientèle cible, le type de distribution ainsi que le budget disponible. De manière générale, on détermine 3 principaux éléments de réussite d’une communication : la concentration, la continuité et la redondance, autrement dit la répétition.

La communication peut être visuelle, écrite, verbale et non verbale.