Distribution

« Back to Glossary Index

Distribution is a controllable and unavoidable variable in the mix. No sale is possible without the establishment of a distribution channel, however short it may be. The company must bring its product to the end user once it has found a product/market couple. This may require the use of intermediaries, making the distribution variable difficult to control.

The distribution designates all the commercial activities which allow to place a product in a favorable situation in front of the customers. It encompasses all the stages through which a product passes from its production to its availability to the end user. In concrete terms, it consists of offering a product in the right place, at the right time, in sufficient quantity, and with all the services required to sell, consume and maintain it. The notion of distribution also covers the management of product flows from the place where they are produced to the place where they are used. A distinction is made between retail and wholesale distribution. However, distribution can also fulfill other functions: spatial and commercial.

Distribution choices are crucial for a company because the commitments they entail are usually long term. It is therefore important to take the necessary precautions to establish the right distribution policy. This includes identifying the right distribution network, as well as the type of strategy best suited to the company’s objectives. Setting up a distribution network is a time-consuming and costly process. Anticipation is therefore essential in such an approach.

Distribution

« Back to Glossary Index

La distribution est une variable du mix contrôlable et incontournable. Aucune vente n’est possible sans la mise en place d’un circuit de distribution, aussi court soit-il. L’entreprise doit amener son produit à l’utilisateur final une fois qu’elle a trouvé un couple produit/marché. Le recours à des intermédiaires peut être nécessaire pour ce faire, ce qui rend la variable de distribution difficile à maîtriser.

La distribution désigne d’une toutes les activités commerciales qui permettent de placer un produit en situation favorable face à la clientèle. Elle englobe toutes les étapes par lesquelles un produit passe de sa production à sa mise à disposition de l’utilisateur final. Elle consiste concrètement à proposer un produit au bon endroit, au bon moment, en quantité suffisante, et ce, avec l’ensemble des services nécessaires pour le vendre, le consommer et l’entretenir.  La notion de distribution porte également la gestion des flux de produits du lieu où ils sont produits au lieu où ils sont utilisés. On distingue principalement la distribution de détail et la distribution de gros. Cependant, la distribution peut également remplir d’autres fonctions : spatiales et commerciales.

Les choix relatifs à la distribution sont cruciaux pour une entreprise, car les engagements qu’ils impliquent courent généralement sur de longues durées. Il convient ainsi de prendre les précautions nécessaires afin d’instaurer la bonne politique de distribution. Il faut notamment identifier le bon réseau de distribution, ainsi que le type de stratégie le plus adaptée aux objectifs de l’entreprise. Mettre en place un réseau de distribution est un procédé qui demande du temps et de l’argent. L’anticipation est par conséquent primordiale dans une telle démarche.