Mailing

« Back to Glossary Index

Mailing is also known as direct mail. This is a direct marketing practice that consists of sending a more or less personalized commercial proposal en masse, by post or e-mail. It is also called addressed mail because the recipients are carefully targeted.

In general, the mailing includes:

  • a letter of presentation of a commercial offer,
  • a brochure or leaflet with visuals and detailing a product or service in depth,
  • a returnable coupon that facilitates interaction between the brand or company and the recipients,
  • a reply envelope that allows the recipient to send a reply without putting postage on the envelope and without the risk of an address error. This type of mailing is also called T envelope or sometimes T card.

In today’s digital age, the reply coupon and envelope are no longer mandatory. A real gas pedal, the mailing allows the brand or the company to obtain a more or less immediate reaction from the prospect: catalog request, order…

Mailing

« Back to Glossary Index

Le mailing est aussi connu sous le nom de publipostage courrier. Il s’agit d’une pratique de marketing direct qui consiste en l’envoi en masse, par voie postale ou électronique, d’une proposition commerciale plus ou moins personnalisée. On parle également de courrier adressé, car les destinataires sont minutieusement ciblés.

De manière générale, le mailing comprend :

  • une lettre de présentation d’une offre commerciale,
  • une brochure ou un dépliant avec des visuels et détaillant en profondeur un produit ou service,
  • un coupon-réponse à renvoyer qui facilite l’interaction entre la marque ou l’entreprise et les destinataires,
  • une enveloppe-réponse qui permet au destinataire d’envoyer une réponse sans affranchir l’enveloppe et sans risque d’erreur d’adresse. Ce type de mailing est aussi appelé enveloppe T ou parfois carte T.

À l’ère actuelle du numérique, le coupon-réponse et l’enveloppe-réponse ne sont plus obligatoires. Véritable accélérateur, le mailing permet à la marque ou l’entreprise d’obtenir une réaction plus ou moins immédiate du prospect : demande de catalogue, commande…