Media planning

« Back to Glossary Index

For an effective advertising, a company must first carry out a media planning. It consists for the company to select the media and the supports to use throughout the advertising campaign. To choose the most adapted media and supports, the company can base itself on :

– their coverage rates,
– their contact rates,
– their power,
– their advertising impact.

It will also be necessary to take into account the preferences of the intended targets and the nature of the messages to be transmitted (visual or audio). The amount of the budget to be allocated to communication also influences the choice of media and supports.
The elaboration of the media plan also translates into the establishment of a campaign calendar or media plan. This lists not only the selected media, but also the dates and frequency of broadcasting. Once the choice of media and supports has been validated, we immediately proceed to the purchase of spaces.

Media planning

« Back to Glossary Index

Pour une publicité efficace, une entreprise doit en premier lieu réaliser un média planning. Il consiste pour l’entreprise, à sélectionner les médias et les supports à utiliser tout au long de la campagne publicitaire. Pour choisir le ou les médias et supports les plus adaptés, l’entreprise peut entre autres se baser sur :

• leurs taux de couverture,
• leurs taux de contact,
• leur puissance,
• leurs impacts publicitaires.

Il faudra également tenir compte des préférences des cibles visées et de la nature des messages à transmettre (visuel ou sonore). Le montant du budget à allouer à la communication influence également le choix des médias et supports.
L’élaboration du plan média se traduit aussi par l’établissement d’un calendrier de campagne ou plan média. Ce dernier recense non seulement les supports sélectionnés, mais également les dates et les fréquences de diffusion. Une fois le choix des médias et des supports validé, on procède immédiatement à l’achat des espaces.